Расписания поездов по городам России, Монголии, Китая. Бронирование билетов по Монголии, Китаю, России.   EnglishRussian

 Главная страница  О компании   Контакты  Форум  Карта сайта

Russia in numbers and facts. Geography, territory, climate, Russian Federation, Political system, Population and language


Russia in numbers and facts

Geography, territory, climate

Russia is situated in the east of Europe and the north of Asia. It is contiguous with 14 states and has the longest borderline in the world. Its territory is 17,075,400 sq. km.
Russia's climate is very diverse, ranging from sub-tropical at the Black Sea to extremely continental in Siberia, where the temperature drop within a year may exceed 100°C, and arctic in the Far North; but most of the country lies within the zone of temperate climate.


There are 11 time zones in Russia. The time difference varies from +2 hours in Kaliningrad to + 12 hours in Kamchatka and Chukotka with respect to the Greenwich Time. The time in Moscow and St. Petersburg is GMT +3 hours, Ekaterinburg (GMT +5 hours), Novosibirsk (GMT +6 hours), Krasnoyarsk ( GMT +7 hours), Irkutsk ( GMT +8 hours), Chita ( GMT +9 hours), Vladivostok ( GMT +10 hours).

Major cities, administrative division

The Russian Federation includes 21 republics, 6 territories, 49 regions, 1 autonomous region, 10 autonomous districts, and 2 cities of federal subordination: Moscow and St. Petersburg.
The capital of Russia is Moscow (about 10 million residents). The largest cities (above 1 million) are: St. Petersburg (4.6 million), Novosibirsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Ekaterinburg, Samara, Omsk, Chel'abinsk, Kazan', Perm', Ufa, Rostov-on-Don, and Volgograd.

Political system

Russia is a federal republic. The head of state is President, but the executive power is also exercised by the Government under a Prime Minister. The legislative power belongs to the Federal Assembly which consists of two houses: the Federation Council and the State Duma.

Population and language

There are about 143.3 million people in Russia (the data of 2002), 80% of whom are Russians (Slavs). Besides, more than a hundred different national and ethnic groups live in Russia. The most numerous of them are Ukrainians and Tatars, as well as Armenians, Azerbaijanians, Kazakhs, Hebrews and Germans.
The official (state) language throughout the whole territory of the Russian Federation is Russian.

Monetary unit

Monetary unit is ruble (RUR).


About half of the Russians are atheists. Most of the believers are Orthodox Christians (the eastern branch of Christianity). Islam, Catholicism, Judaism, and Buddhism are also practiced in Russia.

Main holidays

1-5 January – New Year holydays

7 January — Nativity (Orthodox Christmas) 

23 February — Day of Motherland's Defender

8 March — International Women's Day

1 May — Day of spring and labour

9 May — Victory Day

12 June — Day of Russia

4 November – Day of national unity


- Tour to Moscow

- Tour to St. Petersburg

- Tour to Golden Ring


- Санкт-Петербург

- Москва

- Города Золотого кольца

- Транссиб

- Екатеринбург

- Новосибирск

- Алтай

- Красноярск

- Тува

- Иркутск и озеро Байкал

- Улан-Удэ

- Хабаровск

- Владивосток

- Сахалин

- Курилы

- Камчатка


- Hotel

- Hostel

- Home stay


- Air ticket

- Train ticket

- Bus ticket


- Guide service

- Transfer


- Russia visa support service

Россия. Цифры и факты.




Символы и стереотипы


Туры в Санкт-Петербург 

Туры в Москву 

Туры по "Золотому кольцу"


Общая информация, расписание,


Туры в Екатеринбург

Туры в Новосибирск

Отдых на Алтае

Туры в Красноярск


Туры в Иркутск и на Байкал

Туры в республику Бурятия


Хабаровский край

Туры во Владивосток

Туры на Сахалин

Туры на Курильские острова




- Гостиницы
- Размещение в семье

Бронирование билетов

- Авиабилеты
- Железнодорожные билеты

Виза в Россию


- Гиды/переводчики
- Трансферы